I’m a guild member!

November has been a busy month! With the count down nearing for this baby to arrive, I figured what better time to join a quilters guild.

The last guild I was a part of was a spinners and weavers guild. And I was in the age group of pre-teen at that time!

img_4262

I think I’m still the youngest member of this guild, but I can drive myself to the meetings now!! šŸ™‚

With joining the month before the festive season gets into full gear, we as guild members for a fun activity are to show up to the next meeting with a Christmas block (size between 6″-10″). I was excited about a challenge so I found a picture of a pieced Christmas wreath on line, and loved it, and had to make my own version!

I made it to be a 9″ block.

In the mean time I’ve also finished another quilt!

img_4264

img_4258

For the back I tried to use up as many of my scrap pieces as possible. I think it gives the quilt a unique look! and doesn’t fill up my scrap bins as bad. šŸ™‚ I consider that a win win!
img_4261

And in a bit of spare time I managed to make my husband a birthday cake, for his last birthday before becoming a dad!

I used a pumpkin spice layer cake recipe, that was really tasty and moist!

Ingredients:

3 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
1 15-ounce can pure pumpkin
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/4 cups vegetable oil
4 large eggs
2 teaspoons finely grated orange peel

I omitted the orange peel, and cardamom. As I didn’t have any.

 

Method:

Preheat oven to 350Ā°F. Butter and flour two 9-inch cake pans with 1 1/2-inch-high sides, tapping out any excess flour. Whisk first 9 ingredients in large bowl. Using electric mixer, beat pumpkin, sugar, and oil in another large bowl. Add eggs 1 at a time, beating to incorporate between additions. Mix in orange peel. Add flour mixture; beat on low speed just to blend. Divide batter between prepared pans.
Bake cakes until tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 33 minutes. Cool in pans 10 minutes. Invert onto rack, then turn top side up and cool completely.img_4256

It is supposed to have a cream cheese frosting, but I used a german butter cream instead. As cream cheese has no support under fondant.

cheers

Leave a Reply

