Cherry time!

image

Theres a first for everything! This will be my first time canning cherries! Where I live are 2 beautiful cherry trees loaded with fruit, so yesterday I started picking! with the help of my bf’s mom, together we managed to pick about 6.5 gallons of cherries in about an hours time!

Today I’m faced with canning them. I’ll be canning them whole as my cherry pitter is missing a part that I ordered online (hope it comes in the mail soon).

For canning I’m using the instructions from the Joy of Cooking cookbook. Which is make a simple syrup using 1.5 cup sugar, 2 cup water. Fill jar with cherries, cover with hot syrup, can in boiling water bath 15 minutes.

Cheers

Leave a Reply

