This week…

image

The cows are getting friendlier every day that goes bye! I couldn’t help myself to not post a picture of them, even though it’s difficult to get a proper picture with them all scrambling close to see what I’m doing.

Switching topics, I’ve been experimenting with bread and flat bread/ pizza dough recipes.
image

This is the perfection of my cheesy flat bread!

Recipe:

Place in a large mixing bowl,

1 tsp sugar

1 tbsp quick rise yeast

1 cup warm water

2 tbsp vegetable oil

2 cups flour

1 tsp salt

mix this with electric mixer until it starts to form a ball and look elasticky. Turn into a floured surface and knead in up to and extra 3/4 cup of flour. When the dough is no longer sticky, and is smooth and elastic looking, place in a lightly oiled bowl to rise, with the quick rise yeast this only takes about 15 minutes.

Next roll out to 1/4 inch thickness and place on baking sheet, I unually just push it flat with my fingers rather then using a rolling pin.

Top with;

olive oil (I brush the top to get everything else to stick)

larger pinch of oregano sprinkled evenly along with a larger pinch of basil.

2 finely chopped cloves of garlic

and a good amount of cheese to cover the top, any cheese is good I used cheddar and mozzarella, you could use parmesan or any other cheese on hand.

Bake in a 350 degree F oven for about 30 minutes or until golden brown.

Enjoy!

The recipe originated in the Mission Secondary 1953-2003 50th anniversary recipe collection cook book. It makes and excellent pizza crust as well!

The topping recipe that is given in the book is,

1/4 cup Italian dressing

1/4 tsp pepper

1 clove garlic, minced

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated

I didn’t have those ingredients so that’s why I came up with my variation.

Cheers

Leave a Reply

